Driver Responsibility Program

Explaining Points & Surcharges

The following information explains a system of points related to traffic convictions that cause surcharges to apply to individuals when reapplying for a driver's license. These points and surcharges apply to convictions that became final after September 1, 2003.

The Department of Public Safety will give notification at your last known address of a surcharge and will specify the date by which the surcharge must be paid. Failure to pay the amount assessed or enter into an installment payment agreement with the department within 30 days of notice will result in the automatic suspension of your driver's license. Such suspension will remain in effect until the surcharge and any related costs are paid.

To view information on points assessed against your driver's license, see Chapter 708, Transportation Code, and Section 15.89, Title 37 of the Texas Administrative Code.


Selected Traffic Violation
Points Assessed
Speeding 10% or more over the speed limit
Speeding in a school zone

Moving Violation Not Involving an Accident

Selected Traffic Violations
Points Assessed
State law violation
City ordinance violation (e.g., high-occupancy vehicle)0
Moving violation involving an accident
Safety belt violation (non-commercial driver's license)0
Driver's license restriction or endorsement violation
Open container

Department of Safety Surcharges

Selected Traffic Violations
Points Assessed
Failure to establish financial responsibility
$250 per year for 3 years
No valid driver's license
$100 per year for 3 years
Too many points (6 points or more in 36 months)$100 plus $25 (for each point above 6)

Failure to Pay

Failure to pay the surcharge or failure to timely enter into an installment payment agreement will result in the suspension of your driver's license until you pay the surcharge and any related costs.

More Information

For more information, please visit the Texas Department of Public Safety's website.